The Great Twitter Incident

I was unceremoniously dumped from Twitter for good.

They gave me no reason in their email, their support page still says my appeal – not a whining, shrill stream of invective – is in process. It isn’t.

Their support people we’re polite enough. I publicly thanked them for that.

We found the incident ourselves, & in truth, it does look aggressive sans context.

I was doing SM including Twitter when I was hailed by a fellow who said “Hey, Leslie Mostrup, I’m a good writer, hire me!”

My reply was “Send me a piece & I’ll read it.”

The reply came back, an URL attached; I skimmed through it, & he was right.

That doesn’t happen a lot.

I asked him to exchange emails with me via DM.

That much went smoothly.

I stayed in DM, he kept replying in public.

And here it comes, my friends.

I went back out & perhaps a little tersely told him to “bring it off the board, I don’t do business in public!”

I immediately got an angry “@LeslieMostrup >:(” from a Tweep flying by in my timeline.

And that was it. Turned in by a fellow citizen.

I no longer have a gripe with Twitter, but I do know what the violation was deemed to be: two, we think: aggressive following & behavior.

As someone here said earlier, loss of my real name as a brand, loss of my Twitter social capital, without a chance to explain the context to anyone, life without possibility of parole, all for jaywalking

Twitter runs by the letter of its laws.

My laws here said “No aliases on social media.” Irony abounds.

As for the sanctimonious man, for man it was, we have your IP number & your Twitter ID.

We’ll leave the rest for you to figure out when it happens. Don’t worry, we’re not litigious.

Yes, we know you’ll be back, as I am.

I bet we’ll smell you a mile out.

Nothing Draconian, just enough discomfort that you might think twice before you presume to know anyone’s intentions.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by E-bike on 2011/11/14 - 20:13

    Excellently written article, doubts all bloggers offered the same content because you, the internet is a greater place. Please keep it up!

  2. #2 by awesome site on 2011/11/21 - 14:19

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  3. #3 by Jason on 2011/11/22 - 03:27

    Excellent article, I couldnt agree more. Do you plan on writing a follow up

Leave a comment